top of page
  • Writer's pictureElyse Ipsen

Understanding The Seven Chakras

The chakras are spinning energy centers that connect us to the life force and promote harmony between the body, mind and sprit. They are the focal points for mediation within the human body visualized as structures of energy resembling wheels, discs or flowers.

There are seven main chakras that run down the center of the body from the crown of the head down to the root of the tailbone.

The first chakra is the root chakra and it is located at the base of the spine. It is associated with sensuality and simple survival. It is represented by the color red.

The second chakra is the sacral chakra and it is associated with the sexual organs. It governs things like desire, basic human needs, creativity and happiness. Your will power comes from this chakra and it is represented by the color orange.

The third chakra is the solar plexus chakra and it is associated with the digestive system as well as power and spiritual growth. It is represented by the color yellow.

The forth chakra is the heart chakra and its tied to love, compassion, devotion and other feelings. It is represented by the color green.

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra. It is the chakra of expression, independence, feelings of security and freedom of thought. It is represented by the color blue.

The sixth chakra is the third eye chakra and it deals with perception. It has been associated with the pineal gland and meditating on it is suggested to strengthen ones psychic powers. It is represented by the color indigo.

The seventh chakra is the crown chakra and it is at the top of the head. The chakra of higher consciousness and awareness, it is represented by the color violet.

If we strengthen these precious energy centers we can harness and utilize the life force energy. Yoga is one way that we can work to strengthen and enhance the flow of our chakras. Reiki is another great way to realign the chakras and promote wellness. It is important to be aware of the chakras and address any blockages that might be present. Blocked energy in our chakras can lead to distress so we must stay balanced and keep them open and flowing.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page